Get in contact with us

Telephone

Austria

Tel.: +43 732 257700

Contact form

We are happy to answer your questions.

> Contact

Torque Analysis - Higher process reliability thanks to screw joint tests

Increase process reliability thanks to a detailed examination of your application. A torque analysis is used to determine reliable tightening torques and can be carried out either in one of our laboratories or at your location.

Why is a torque analysis necessary?

Thread-forming screws are frequently used in the construction of machinery. However, since the various materials, screw types, screw-in depths, hole geometries and other parameters do not provide universal information on torques, torque analyses are indispensable for reliable screw connections. In Bossard’s application engineering department, torque analyses are part of our day-to-day business. Torques in the range of 0.1 - 1500 Nm can be measured and recorded at the bolting test stations. If required, Bossard also has accredited laboratories in each world region with corresponding testing competencies for recognized validation.

 

How is a torque analysis performed?

Whenever possible, torque analyses are carried out on the customer’s original components. During the test, the connections are tightened until they fail. As a result, the components are destroyed after the test and can no longer be used.

 

How is the data evaluated?

After the test, the recorded torque and angle of rotation curves are evaluated by our application engineers. Both the screw-in torque and overtightening torque are determined. The resulting torque and angle of rotation curves can then be used to draw meaningful conclusions about the behavior and failure of the connections.

 

What is the goal of a torque analysis and what are the benefits for the customer?

Several factors must coincide before a connection can be considered reliable. For example, the overtightening torque at which the connection fails must be significantly greater than the screw-in torque that is required for thread forming. Only then can the recommended tightening torque be reliably defined and you, as the customer, can be certain that the connection can be properly tightened, thereby minimizing your component’s risk of failure.


torque analysis angle of rotation
Figure 1: Technically optimal torque/angle of rotation curves.

 

tightening torque recommended
Figure 2: Evaluation with tightening torque recommendation for the customer based on 2 proposed fastening solutions.

 

Why is Bossard / KVT-Fastening the right partner?

Our customers benefit from our highly qualified personnel and many years of experience in fastening technology. In addition, our ability to access accredited and state-of-the-art measuring and testing facilities form the basis for reliable quality assurance and product quality.

 

Contact our experts and learn more about our Expert Test Services. We are happy to hear from you!

Contact us

 

Related topics

Discover in our white papers what our experts write on topics such as:

  • Corrosion
  • Friction
  • Hardness measurement
  • Hydrogen embrittlement
  • Material fatigue

Download white papers

 

Discover other modules that contribute to improving your productivity step by step

Expert Walk
Study your fasteners and tools in use, we determine how to proceed leaner and smarter

Expert Education
Learn about the essentials and secrets of fastenings in our seminars and e-learning courses

Expert Teardown
Identify the best fastening solution and cost saving potential for you

Expert Design
Design your best product with a wide range of technical information and tools

Expert Assortment Analysis
Reduce TCO by identifying opportunities for fastener rationalization

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Telefon

Österreich

Tel.: +43 732 257700

Kontaktformular

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Fragen.

> Kontakt

Schraubfallanalyse - Höhere Prozesssicherheit dank Verschraubungsversuchen

Erhöhen Sie die Prozesssicherheit dank einer eingehenden Prüfung Ihrer Anwendung. Die Schraubfallanalyse dient der Ermittlung des prozesssicheren Anziehdrehmoments und kann entweder in einem unserer Laboratorien oder mobil an Ihrem Standort vorgenommen werden.

Weshalb ist eine Schraubfallanalyse erforderlich?

Im Apparatebau kommen häufig gewindeformende Schrauben zum Einsatz. Da die verschiedenen Materialien, Schraubentypen, Einschraubtiefen, Lochgeometrien und weiteren Parameter allerdings keine allgemeingültige Aussage über Drehmomente zulassen, sind für eine prozesssichere Verschraubung Drehmomentanalysen unerlässlich. In der Anwendungstechnik von Bossard gehören Schraubfallanalysen zum Tagesgeschäft. An den Verschraubungsprüfständen können Drehmomente im Bereich von 0.1 - 1500 Nm gemessen und protokolliert werden. Bei Bedarf verfügt Bossard zudem in jeder Weltregion über akkreditierte Laboratorien mit entsprechenden Prüfkompetenzen zur anerkannten Validierung. 

 

Wie wird eine Schraubfallanalyse durchgeführt?

Schraubfallanalysen werden, wenn immer möglich, an Originalbauteilen des Kunden durchgeführt. Dabei werden die Verbindungen während der Prüfung bis zum Versagen verschraubt. Dies hat zur Folge, dass die Bauteile nach der Prüfung zerstört sind und nicht weiter verwendet werden können.

 

Wie erfolgt die Datenauswertung?

Nach der Prüfung werden die aufgezeichneten Drehmoment- und Drehwinkelkurven von unseren Anwendungstechnikern ausgewertet. Dabei werden sowohl das Eindrehmoment als auch das Überdrehmoment ermittelt. Aus den daraus resultierenden Drehmoment- und Drehwinkelkurven können anschliessend aussagekräftige Rückschlüsse auf die Verhaltensweise und das Versagen der Verbindungen gemacht werden.

 

Was ist das Ziel einer Drehmomentanalyse und worin liegt der Kundennutzen?

Um von einer prozesssicheren Verbindung sprechen zu können, müssen verschiedene Faktoren zusammenpassen. So muss beispielsweise das Überdrehmoment, bei dem die Verbindung versagt, deutlich grösser sein, als das Eindrehmoment, das für das Gewindeformen benötigt wird. Nur dann kann das empfohlene Anzugsmoment sicher definiert werden und Sie als Kunde haben die Gewissheit, dass die Verbindung korrekt verschraubt werden kann und damit das Ausfallrisiko Ihres Bauteils minimiert wird.


torque analysis angle of rotation
Abbildung 1: Technisch optimale Drehmoment/Drehwinkel-Kurven.

 

tightening torque recommended
Abbildung 2: Auswertung mit Anzieh-Drehmomentempfehlung für den Kunden auf der Grundlage von zwei vorgeschlagenen Befestigungslösungen.

 

Warum ist Bossard der richtige Partner?

Unsere Kunden profitieren von unseren gut ausgebildeten Mitarbeitenden und der langjährigen Erfahrung in der Verbindungstechnik. Zudem bildet der Zugang zu akkreditierten und hochmodernen Mess- und Prüfanlagen die Grundlage für eine zuverlässige Qualitätssicherung und Produktqualität.

 

Kontaktieren Sie unsere Experten und erfahren Sie mehr über die Bossard Expert Test Services. Wir freuen uns von Ihnen zu hören!

Kontakt

 

Passend zum Thema

Erfahren Sie in unseren White Papers, was unsere Bossard-Experten über Themen wie

  • Korrosion
  • Reibwertprüfung
  • Härteprüfung
  • Wasserstoffversprödung
  • Materialermüdung

Whitepaper herunterladen

 

Entdecken Sie weitere Module zur schrittweisen Verbesserung Ihrer Produktion

Expert Walk
Analysieren Sie die von Ihnen verwendeten Verbindungselemente und Werkzeuge und wir ermitteln, wie Sie Ihre Abläufe schlanker und intelligenter gestalten können

Expert Education
Erfahren Sie in unseren Seminaren und E-Learning-Kursen mehr über die Grundlagen und Geheimnisse von Verbindungen

Expert Teardown
Entdecken Sie die beste Verbindungslösung für Ihr Produkt und loten Sie Ihr Einsparpotenzial aus

Expert Design
Konstruieren Sie das bestmögliche Produkt mit einer grossen Vielfalt technischer Informationen und Tools

Expert Assortment Analysis
Senken Sie Ihre TCO, indem Sie Möglichkeiten zur Rationalisierung Ihrer Verbindungselemente wahrnehmen